RSS

Intro, and a peek at what’s to come

27 Jan

My name is Doug Ferguson.  I am the fifth generation on the family farm.  You may be familiar with some of my writings.  I used to blog for Cattle Call.   http://thecattlecall.wordpress.com/tag/doug-ferguson/     I was one of the original bloggers when the site launched in 2009.  To date I’m the only one of the original bloggers that submits blogs to that site. The reason I no longer will be submitting blogs to them is the new National Cattlemen’s Beef Association’s Young Producer Council chairman is a cattlefax employee.  Might sound silly to you, I know.  Here is the thing.  Cattlefax does more harm than good to the cattle biz.  That is a fact.  I love this business so I will not be a part of anything that may give the idea that I am okay with cattlefax.

On this blog you can expect more of the same of what I’ve been writing.  I will continue to blog about the cattle biz, life, political rants, even getting started in the biz.

Here is why my blog will be different.  Before I had an editor, that tweeked my stuff or even refused to post it.  Here the words are my very own and the gloves come off.  I will name names if I feel the need to do so.  I am not some young guy who worked on a receiving dock at bobby big feedyard for six months and then went back to grad school.  I am not an intern, or wanna be cowboy.  NO LIP SERVICE HERE.  I am the real deal.  See I started my stalker, feedlot, seed stock, order buying businesses from scratch.  That is right.  I did not inherit them.  I only got in the family business on the commercial cow/calf and farming side.  Most bloggers advocate leaving the impression of a baby calf standing in a field of honey suckle with butterflies dancing on his nose.  That is not reality.  I have been doing this full time for over ten years.  In my world your only credentials are your past transactions.  Therefore I do not believe a guy sitting in a corner office downtown should write about the biz.  Or even worse the markets

I may sound like an asshole, or a hard ass.  In the words of Gunnery Sargent Hartman “Because I am hard you will not like me.  The more you hate me the more you will learn.”

That is my goal here.  To share ideas. And hopefully help a few people out

I will post a few of my goodie oldies to start out with.  I have some new stuff I am still working on and it will be posted shortly

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Intro, and a peek at what’s to come

  1. toddofalltrades

    January 27, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Always like to catch your thoughts.

     
  2. Chris Henry

    February 1, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Awesome, the gloves come off and the guns come out. Keep me posted.

     
  3. bobkinford

    February 2, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    Let it rip Doug! It is about time someone spoke up! Raising cattle puts you in the beef business exactly like mining gold puts you in the jewelry business… Cattle is just the raw material for the finished product!

     

Leave a Reply

 
